Established 1992

Waukesha County Land Conservancy

Protecting environmentally significant lands in Waukesha County

About Us

Since 1992, The Waukesha County Land Conservancy has worked quietly and efficiently at fulfilling its mission of protecting environmentally significant lands in Waukesha County. Nearly 2,900 acres of primary environmental corridor, undisturbed shoreline, pristine floating bog, uplands, woodlands and wetlands are preserved for generations to come.

The Waukesha County Land Conservancy is a land trust that is not for profit, tax-exempt, & all volunteer organization funded through memberships and other donations.

With the assistance of professional biologists, naturalists and other land professionals, the Waukesha Land Conservancy is seeking to protect the most environmentally significant remaining natural areas for the public benefit. When used in this way, the term "trust" means the resource is made permanently safe against harmful uses.

Preservation can be accomplished in several ways:

  • Establishing conservation easements
  • Accepting land donations
  • Purchasing land
  • Working with public or private entities to protect environmentally sensitive sites.

Thanks to the many individuals, corporations and foundations whose donations have helped us fulfill our mission.  There is still land that needs to be preserved and your continued support is essential.

Photo courtesy of Ralph Curtis
You can see and purchase Ralph Curtis' photos at his website

Board of Directors

Steven Schmuki

Vice President
Susan Marguet

Phillip J. Hinman
Community Volunteer

Riene Wells
Owner: Eagle Centre House

Executive Director
Cheryl White
Immediate Past President
Ellen Gennrich
Land Conservation Advocate

Andres Gonzalez
Vice President, Chief Diversity Officer Froedtert Health

Marlin Johnson

UW-Waukesha Field Station Manager


Yvonne Lumsden-Dill
President, LumsDill Communications, LLC

Donna Meyer
Community Volunteer

Neal O’Reilly, PhD
Prof of Environmental Studies UW-Milwaukee

Jim Siepmann
President Siepmann Realty Corp.